Surrounded by lush gardens, state-of-the-art facilities, a stunning white-sand beach and crystalline waters, Riu Negril provides family-friendly getaways and relaxing spa retreats ideal for couples, groups and families alike. Where fun has no limits, guests to the resort enjoy 24-hour dining options serving delicious cuisines ranging from traditional favorites to Brazilian and gourmet fare; dynamic bars including a swim-up pool bar and a beach bar; unique daily activities like windsurfing, ping pong and scuba diving lessons in the pool; nightly entertainment; a relaxing menu of treatments in the appealing, Renova™ Spa and superior kid-friendly amenities including a children's pool, mini-club and an exciting activities program. Whether you are tying the knot in a beautiful, oceanfront setting or strolling along the white-sand beach fronting the resort, Riu Negril is a tropical oasis for fun in the sun.

Location

Negril - Beach
Montego Bay, Jamaica - Sangster (MBJ) : 43 miles

Property Information

Year Built: 2019
Total rooms: 420

{{title}}

Resort Details

Amenities

Show More

Activities

Show More

Hotel Advisories

Advisory JAMAICA’S TOBACCO CONTROL REGULATIONS SMOKING PROHIBITED IN THE FOLLOWING PLACES: • All enclosed places (Restaurants, bars, lobby areas and rooms) • Public transportation • Work places • Government owned and occupied buildings • Health facilities including pharmacies • Sports, athletics and recreational facilities for use by the public • Educational institutions • Areas specifically for use by children • And places of collective use such as bus stops Persons may be fined or imprisoned
Advisory Guests staying at Riu Palace Tropical Bay are able to use Riu Negril facilities. Guests stating at Riu Negril are not able to use Riu Palace Tropical Bay facilities.
Advisory Student Groups/Spring Breakers (either groups or individuals, regardless of age) are not allowed at any time during the year. Guests disturbing or generating complaints from other guests or hotel may be removed from the property, at their own expense. Parties in rooms are not permitted.

General Policies & Fine Print

Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Minimum Check-In Age: 18
General Policies:

Check-in Policy - Hotel requires a credit/debit card authorization or cash deposit upon check-in for incidentals; this will place a hold on your funds.

Convention Policy : Groups traveling together can book this property for their stay taking advantage of group benefits such as 6th or 11th complimentary guest, Group dinner reservation, One complimentary cocktail hour with a selection of appetizers, One complimentary massage for the group leader, Complimentary room upgrades to the next category, Fruit plate and bottle of wine for the VIP, Private check-in when arriving together,  Welcome sign. Applicable with Wedding Collections and Social Packages. Consult terms & conditions.

Spring Break Policies - Student Groups/Spring Breakers (either groups or individuals, regardless of age) are not allowed at any time during the year. Guests disturbing or generating complaints from other guests or hotel may be removed from the property, at their own expense. Parties in rooms are not permitted.


Transfer Policy - A price may display when children stay free, if your vacation includes transfer to your hotel.

General Information - Room taxes and service fees are included in vacation price.
Minimum night stay restrictions may apply.
Reservation changes may not be permitted unless authorized by the hotel.

Pet Policy Pets Not Allowed

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 7519 reviews
  • 5.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Riu Negril January 2023

    Riu Negril is a excellent resort , great beaches as expected in Bloody Bay even some interesting snorkeling with lots of little fish although not very colorful just past the swimming barrier ropes. Even saw 2 small 3 footish long sharks swimming close to shore on numerous occasions . The 2 main points I will bring forward contrary to what I have read on 2 review sites . Rooms DO HAVE coffee makers and internet IS AVAILABLE throughout the resort. Food is decent throughout with Jerk Chicken on the beach above average for resort food .. Rooms are good and clean . Staff are courteous and attentive at all times. The biggest downfall is the distance from the airport, but Negril beaches are hands down nicer than Montego Bay or Ocho Rios

    Jan 27, 2023
  • 4.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Annual family trip

    Just returned from our annual family vacation, 3rd time to Jamaica, 1st time to Negril. We have stayed at many RIUs over the years, This one rates up there mainly because of the beach, it was large, beautiful, lots of natural shade if you want it,able to walk long distance if you choose, always plenty of chairs for our group of 8 to be together. The hotel itself was a little dated but always clean. It is a large spread out resort, so if you can request, I would request a room in building 1 or 2. We were in building 4 and it was probably about a 1/4 mile to buffet, but at least we got our exercise in, also no elevators, but they are only 3 story buildings, one in our group had knee problems so we switched with them. Some of the nightly shows were more modern and updated which was a nice change. The staff was amazing, Everyone should have an attitude like O'Niell in the lobby bar. No complaints on food, always could find something on buffet and specialty were excellent. We had a great time, we would return to this RIU again!

    Jan 27, 2023
  • 3.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Good and bad

    We stayed in this hotel in September last year. The hotel itself is beautiful, but found the food in the main restaurant very repetitive, definitely not enough jamaican food, to be had they catered more for the Americans and Canadians. The staff varied from being very helpful to down right miserable. There is a queuing system for the Al A Carte restaurants and unless you're there very early, you have no chance. However the food in these restaurants was lovely Parts of the beach are ok the sea I wasnt impressed with full of seaweed. The rooms whilst a little dated, were very very clean and we had an amazing cleaner throughout our 2 week stay, extremely helpful. Now for tge entertainment team. What can I say they worked tirelessly and what an amazing team. B to the r etc etc you were brilliant. Miguel well what can I say such a funny entertaining guy. The lovely Pine you girl are a fabulous young lady thank you for your time knowing my dad was at home seriously I'll, you asked me every day if I was ok, something I'll never forget. You were an amazing team and gave 100% to ensure we all had a fab time you were hotel Rui.

    Jan 25, 2023
  • 4.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Awesome sunsets, snorkeling, fishing and a great family resort.

    This was our 1st time in Negril but our 4th time in Jamaica. We have also been to Cuba X 2, DR X 3 and Mexico X 3 always in 4 star or better resorts. We landed 4 hours late due to airline issues and then a 1.5 hour bus ride took 3 hours because the driver was more interested in making money selling beer on the bus. These issues will not affect my review of the resort because they were Sunwing issues. After a very long day travelling we were greeted by an unimpressive lobby, no warmed towels or staff with greeting drinks but it was clean and there were plenty of staff working the desk. The desk staff were very efficient and accommodating. Special mention goes out to Germaine who helped us get adjoining rooms for our family. The rooms were plenty large and clean as well. The water pressure is just like all other resorts we've been to - not good. The meals at the main buffet were good but I found that the seafood seemed to always be over cooked. There are 4 restaurants that no reservations are required for. We went to 3 of them. Waiting in line for almost an hour to find out we didn't make the cut was frustrating so it was off to the buffet and a longer in line wait the next day. We found that the food in the restaurants was just OK and not worth the wait. How hard would it be to make reservations like every other resort? There are two main pools. We stayed by the family one for two days then the adult one with a swim up bar for the remainder of our stay. The pool areas can get very loud with music, entertainment or over-indulged tourists. I am not a fan of swim up bars because I have seen many people stay at the bar drinking for hours without leaving to do their business. There are no servers at this resort to take drink or food orders at the pool side or on the beach. There were plenty of loungers and no need to do the early towel drop to hold them. The beach is very nice with amazing sunsets. There are a few locals that will ask you if you want to buy smoke, trinkets, go on various excursions... but they are nice and not too pushy of their wares and stay by the water’s edge. The beach is sandy from around 10 to 20 feet out and a couple feet deep then there is a lot of grass on the bottom. This makes it great for the fish. I went shore fishing for a couple hours every morning and caught several barracuda around 2 feet long which were asked for by resort workers for their “breakfast”. I also hired a deep sea charter through the resort. The snorkeling is great and not a far swim from the shore to the coral area. At the resort fish sanctuary people were feeding and petting 3 foot reef sharks. I saw many sting rays during my early morning fishing. I was lure fishing and another man was successfully bait fishing with shrimp from the kitchen staff. The resort in general is dated but clean and maintained fairly well. It is a very good resort for children of all ages. We have never gone to the same resort twice and probably will not return to this resort even though we did enjoy our stay. Negril definitely warrants another visit though because of the awesome beach and gorgeous sunsets. The wind blows from the land here so the waters are not as wavy as resorts on the north shore making the snorkeling visibility much clearer. I had my best success shore fishing at this resort over any other which does tempt me to do a return visit :)

    Jan 25, 2023
  • 1.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Very Disappointed

    We stayed at several all inclusives and this was the 1st time in Jamaica. I have never experienced such unprofessional staff who really don’t care. My wedding band was stolen from our room and when I reported it - security came to our room and went through all of our belongings and said that is their policy. I was told they would take a reading of the door access and to check back with them in the morning. We were leaving the next day and were informed the hotel staff never saw my gold ring which was in my makeup case, in a sealed pouch. They took my email and phone number and were going to get back to me. Since returning home, I emailed both security and customer service with no response.

    Jan 24, 2023
Prices per person based on double occupancy including round-trip airfare via U.S. certified air carriers and round-trip airport/hotel transfers when arriving at airport closest to destination (for exceptions see Frequently Asked Questions), hotel taxes and baggage handling, fuel surcharges, and all pre-collected U.S. and foreign taxes. In some instances, pricing may specifically apply to one of multiple flights on select departure days. All packages are based on the lowest hotel/air classes available at time of publication, capacity controlled, subject to availability and change without notice. Promotional pricing may only be available for a limited time. Fees may apply for carry-on and checked baggage-view Baggage Policies. Some resort fees, environmental levies and departure taxes are not included and may be payable in resort. View Frequently Asked Questions for more information. Apple Vacations is not responsible for errors or omissions. Cancellation policies apply. Bookings are subject to the Fair Trade Contract. All public charter flights are operated by ALG Vacations Corp: Allegiant Air: PC 18-231, A319-156 seats or A320-186 seats /PC 18-234, A319-156 seats or A320-186 seats; Miami Air operated by TUI Airlines Belgium N.V. : PC 19-085 & PC 19-117, B737-800, 180 seats/PC 19-091, B737-800-183 seats; Swift Air: PC 19-092, B737-400-150 seats; Viva Aerobus: PC 18-228, A320-180 seats/ PC 19-079, A320-180-185 seats/PC 19-094, A320-185 seats. CST2139014-20 120319